close button to close alert bar

Наша история

1970-е

Корни Central City Concern уходят корнями в 1979 год, когда Портленд искал решения, чтобы помочь людям на улице, которые были выведены из строя из-за расстройства, вызванного употреблением алкоголя. Агентству (первоначально называвшемуся Burnside Consortium) было поручено финансировать местных поставщиков восстановительного лечения и сохранять жилой фонд Старого города. Мы направили федеральные средства в агентства социального обслуживания и выслушали жителей отелей Старого города, чтобы определить их потребности и развить чувство общности. В течение года мы первыми внедрили интегрированная система милосердной заботы в Старом городе, который станет образцом для страны.

Image of Portland in the 70s

1980-е годы

С самого начала было ясно, что безопасное жилье имеет первостепенное значение для тех, кто выздоравливает, и для всего района. Мы приняли стратегию покупки и ремонта исторических зданий, чтобы обеспечить безопасные, ухоженные квартиры и защитить жителей от роста стоимости аренды. CCC приобрела Бьют Отель в 1982 году благодаря сотрудничеству с федеральными, местными и частными спонсорами, за которым вскоре последовали Медфорд, Голден Вест, Эстейт, Салли Маккракен и Генри здания. Наша работа по ремонту и управлению городским однокомнатным жилым домом задала стандарт для других некоммерческих жилищных организаций и привлекла внимание страны.

В 1982 году мы взяли на себя управление Центр стабилизации детоксикации Hooper и быстро интегрировали инновационные методы, такие как иглоукалывание, первичная медико-санитарная помощь и общественное жилье без алкоголя и наркотиков. Континуум заботы CCC начал проявляться в разрозненных местах по всему Старому городу.

Exterior image of building ccc purchased in the 80s
Medial working taking blood pressure of another woman in the 80s
Collage photo of history of early 80s at ccc

1990-е

Для дальнейшей поддержки перехода клиентов к полной самодостаточности в начале 1990-х годов CCC добавила программы обучения трудоустройству и возможности трудоустройства. Закладывая основу для сегодняшнего Центр доступа к трудоустройству, Чистый старт и Центральный Город Кадровый программ мы начали устранять основные препятствия на пути к трудоустройству, такие как хроническая бездомность, криминальное прошлое, наркомания и пробелы в трудоустройстве. С самого начала мы стремились нанимать людей, которые участвовали в наших программах и делятся жизненным опытом с нашими клиентами. - практика, которая привела к развитию в организации глубокой и прочной культуры сострадания. В конце 90-х годов Программа наставничества по восстановлению вырос из этой веры в ценность совместного опыта.

В 1997 году CCC взял на себя управление Летти Оуингс Центр, лечебный дом-интернат для беременных и рожениц. Вскоре мы начали Семейная жилищная программа, сообщества, свободные от алкоголя и наркотиков, где семьи продолжают лечиться и процветать вместе.

Two men standing in front of CCC jobs program sign in the 90s
Woman standing in front of CCC job program sign in the 90s

2000-е

В 2001 году мы взяли на себя управление Клиника Старого города, которая оказывала медицинскую помощь бездомным Портленду с 1983 года. Клиника завершила наш цикл лечения, доказав, что кто-то, у кого есть безопасное место для сна, позитивные отношения со сверстниками, помощь в трудоустройстве и качественная физическая и психическая помощь, лучший шанс победить свою зависимость и изменить свою жизнь.

CCC продолжал слушать, отвечать и опираться на опыт и знания малообеспеченных сообществ устранять препятствия на пути к медицинской помощи. В 2005 году мы начали Пуэнтес, программа восстановления латинского сообщества, проводимая двуязычными и бикультурными людьми и основанная на общих ценностях латинского языка. В 2015 г. Центр Имани открыт для оказания услуг по психическому здоровью и лечению от наркозависимости, а также для создания сообщества поддержки афроамериканцев, которые могут столкнуться с препятствиями на пути к основному лечению.

Collage photo of history at Old Town Clinic

2010-е

Когда мы открыли Центр восстановления Старого города рядом с клиникой Old Town Clinic в 2011 году CCC лучше справляется с хроническими серьезными проблемами психического и поведенческого здоровья, с которыми сталкиваются многие наши клиенты. Общая близость программ означала, что клиенты могли получить комплексную первичную медико-санитарную помощь, аптечные услуги, поддержку в выздоровлении, консультации и многое другое в одном месте.

В 2019 году наше видение комплексных услуг привело к открытию Блэкберн Центр в Ист-Портленде. Центр объединяет комплексные услуги первичной медико-санитарной помощи, лечение психических заболеваний и наркозависимости, услуги аптек, помощь в трудоустройстве, жилье и комплексное ведение пациентов под одной крышей.

С 2010 года мы открыли шесть новых домов доступного жилья для отдельных лиц и семей в районе метро Портленда. От переходного жилья с низкими барьерами до общественных зданий, свободных от алкоголя и наркотиков, до квартир для работающих людей, эти здания являются частью неизменной приверженности CCC созданию недорогих, доступных и безопасных домов для всех.

Two people cutting large red ribbon with large scissors
Person cuts ribbon at Hazel Heights grand opening

На горизонте

CCC использует популяционные исследования для определения кому нужны наши услуги и где. Давно известная как организация, базирующаяся в Старом городе, мы стратегически расширяем свое присутствие, чтобы обслуживать людей, столкнувшихся с бездомными, на всей территории метро. Мы также стремимся исправить недостатки в предыдущих моделях восстановления и историческую дискриминацию против чернокожих, коренных народов и цветных людей в Портленде, расширяя культурно специфические программы и активно работая над тем, чтобы стать антирасистской организацией.

Заглядывая в будущее, мы продолжим реагировать на потребности наших соседей с помощью заботливые, инновационные услуги, адресованные всему человеку и поднять все сообщество.

Помогите положить конец бездомности

Housing icon Корпус Найти жилье dark arrow pointing right Healtcare icon Здравоохранение Получите медицинское обслуживание dark arrow pointing right Recovery icon Восстановление Начать восстановление dark arrow pointing right Job icon Вакансии Найти работу dark arrow pointing right

close button to close alert bar

Our History

1970s

Central City Concern’s roots trace back to 1979, when Portland was seeking solutions to help people on the street who were incapacitated by alcohol use disorder. The agency (originally called Burnside Consortium) was charged with funding local recovery treatment providers and preserving Old Town’s housing stock. We channeled federal funds to social service agencies and listened to the residents of Old Town’s hotels to identify their needs and develop a sense of community. Within a year, we pioneered an integrated system of compassionate care in Old Town that would become a model for the country.

Image of Portland in the 70s

1980s

Early on, it was clear that safe housing was paramount for those in recovery and to the neighborhood at large. We adopted a strategy of purchasing and renovating historic buildings to ensure safe, well-maintained units and protect residents from rising rental costs. CCC purchased the Butte Hotel in 1982 through collaboration with federal, local and private funders — followed soon after by the Medford, Golden West, Estate, Sally McCracken and Henry buildings. Our work in renovating and managing urban single-room occupancy housing set the standard for other nonprofit housing organizations and attracted national attention.

In 1982, we assumed management of the Hooper Detoxification Stabilization Center and quickly integrated innovative practices such as acupuncture, primary health care, and alcohol- and drug-free community housing. CCC’s continuum of care began to materialize at scattered sites throughout Old Town.

Exterior image of building ccc purchased in the 80s
Medial working taking blood pressure of another woman in the 80s
Collage photo of history of early 80s at ccc

1990s

To further support clients’ transformations to full self-sufficiency, in the early 1990s CCC added employment training and work opportunity programs. In laying the groundwork for today’s Employment Access Center, Clean Start and Central City Staffing programs, we began addressing major barriers to employment such as chronic homelessness, criminal histories, addiction and gaps in employment. From the beginning, we’ve been committed to hiring individuals who have participated in our programming and share lived experience with our clients — a practice that has cultivated a deep and lasting culture of compassion within the organization. In the late ‘90s, the Recovery Mentor Program grew out of that belief in the value of shared experience.

In 1997, CCC took over management of the Letty Owings Center, a residential treatment home for pregnant and new mothers. Soon, we began our Family Housing Program, alcohol- and drug-free communities where families continue healing and thriving together.

Two men standing in front of CCC jobs program sign in the 90s
Woman standing in front of CCC job program sign in the 90s

2000s

In 2001, we assumed management of the Old Town Clinic, which had provided health care to Portland’s homeless population since 1983. The clinic completed our treatment continuum, proving that someone with a safe place to sleep, positive peer relationships, employment assistance and quality physical and mental health care had a better chance to beat their addiction and transform their life.

CCC continued listening, responding to and drawing on the experience and knowledge of underserved communities to address barriers to care. In 2005, we started Puentes, a recovery program for the Latinx community led by bilingual and bicultural individuals and grounded in shared Latinx values. In 2015, the Imani Center opened to provide mental health and addiction treatment services and build a community of support for African Americans who may face barriers to mainstream treatment.

Collage photo of history at Old Town Clinic

2010s

When we opened the Old Town Recovery Center next to Old Town Clinic in 2011, CCC became better able to address the chronic, severe mental and behavioral health issues that confront many of our clients. The programs’ shared proximity meant clients could receive integrated primary care, pharmacy services, recovery support, counseling and more in one place.

In 2019, our vision of wraparound services culminated in the opening of Blackburn Center in East Portland. The center brings integrated primary care services, mental health and addiction treatment, pharmacy services, employment assistance, housing and comprehensive case management together under one roof.

From 2010 on, we opened six new affordable housing buildings for individuals and families across the Portland metro area. Ranging from low-barrier transitional housing to alcohol- and drug-free community buildings to apartments for working individuals, these buildings are part of CCC’s continued commitment to affordable, accessible and safe homes for all.

Two people cutting large red ribbon with large scissors
Person cuts ribbon at Hazel Heights grand opening

On the horizon

CCC uses population-based research to determine who needs our services, and where. Long known as an Old Town-based organization, we’re strategically expanding our footprint to serve people facing homelessness throughout the metro area. We also strive to correct deficiencies in previous recovery models and historic discrimination against Black, Indigenous and people of color in Portland by expanding culturally specific programs and actively working to become an anti-racist organization.

As we look to the future, we will continue responding to the needs of our neighbors with caring, innovative services that address the whole person and elevate the entire community.

Help end homelessness

Housing icon Housing Find Housing dark arrow pointing right Healtcare icon Health Care Get Health Care dark arrow pointing right Recovery icon Recovery Start Recovery dark arrow pointing right Job icon Jobs Find a Job dark arrow pointing right